schooldays


I walk home every day from school

Behind the seminary is my favorite road,

Where not more than five bambinos

Play garters and fewer dogs

Slaughter my promenade.

Upon reaching the wooden bridge.

I nestle on the spell

Of his green stream, willowy

But thick,

A poignant passage

Cruising away every crippled whisper

That comes out of my unheard tongue.

I listen to the skip of my heart

I bantam stride.

With the bullies now gone

Raiding my shit – specked khakis,

I heel grabe

And I count banana trees

And see in my eleven – year – old eyes

The glory of afternoon walks.

Near the greens

And the broken barricades

Where I sneeze out the spicy odour

Of lily of the valleys.

When I can look up to the pigeons

And say, I LOVE YOU JESUS, IS THAT OKAY?

Just before the Angelus, before I have

To be the supper clown

My scanty little hour

Before I pistol home.

About this entry