Mikael Daez : The Young Man in the Mirror


By Jon Verzosa

THE YOUNG MAN OF MY HOUR

I spent a few minutes with Kapuso star Mikael Daez at the marvellous Mercator Christmas slash Thanksgiving party held at Casa Pura in Timog a few weeks ago.  I’ve always thought that Mikael is a fresh young lad who graced the boob tube and can call it a day afterwards.  He is pretty, articulate and can sweep a lady’s feet off the ground with just one smile.  Also, his perfectly chiselled facial bones can substantiate any endorsements that may come his way.  He’s got a face that can be remembered.

A pure-blooded Atenean, he graduated college with a degree in Business Administration.  Before hitting mainstream cinema and television also appeared in television commercials for Jollibee Champ, Yogurt, Dole Juice and SM.

“So how have you been?” I asked.

“It has been a great year!” he began. “I feel so fortunate and thankful for GMA for giving me a kick-start off the hit movie Temptation Island, and then the epic-serye Amaya, which is a big TV production.  It was an opportunity for anyone who is as new as me and a big one too!  I couldn’t be luckier!” he enthused with a whopping smile on his face.

He continued, “As much as it gets to be hectic, I have enjoyed every moment of it.  It all happened so fast too!  Like I said, it was a enormous year for me. When I decided to give it a go, I’ve had doubts too, but alam mo ‘yun, my first impression ko with the industry was sobrang ganda.  And it gets better and better.”

FUN IN ACCIDENTAL BEGINNINGS

Mikael dipped into the glare of publicity one day in October of 2009, at Fashion week.  It was an effortless story about him needing cash at the time and then a friend recommended that he should appear in the goose.  “My friend said the, ‘Hey, it’s Fashion Week.’ I said, ‘What is that?’ My friend said, ‘It’s a fashion show; you can join and earn money.’ So I tried. That’s where somebody from Mercator saw me.” he said.

Mercator, headed by Jonas Antonio Gaffud, is the Philippines’ chief talent agency today with an A-list of prominent clients that include beauty queens Venus Raj, Shamcey Supsup and Gwendolyn Ruais, models and actors/models that include JC Tuiseco, Daniel Matsunaga, Akihiro Sato and Fabio Ide.

“What makes it all exciting for you?” I asked.

“Oh production itself!  You truly become a big family.  It’s beautiful! It gets to be quite emotional after a certain project because you get attached and everyone at the end of the day would go on with their own lives, but as we all know that is a part of showbiz, everyone has to move on to the next project.  I guess I am still learning and as one colleague told me, ‘’Mikael, you make friends at work but at the same time, work is work. So, kailangan, you know how to move on and grow.’ So, I guess that’s a time when you get to look in the mirror and tell yourself that life in entertainment is a learning bit.  It is sad dahil you get to form friendships and that indeed you meet friends along the way but we all have to move on and grow.  Memories remain though and it is all fun!” he quipped, beginning to rationalize his emotions and all its differing challenges.”

Mikael will soon be seen in GMA 7’s new teleserye called My Beloved with Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera

MY BELOVED

Mikael will soon be seen in GMA 7’s new teleserye called My Beloved with Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera.  Unlike the movie Temptation Island where he played a funny probinsiyano (which I honestly found so hysterical with his surprising accent and comic timing) or in Amaya where he played the valiant warrior, Lumad, Mikael will soon demonstrate his prowess in weighty drama.

“Did you really want to do all this?  The showbiz thing?” I asked, expressing my candid estimation of placing a young man in the mirror whose background enumerates being six feet tall, a candy man, Ateneo de Manila, a promising corporate career, a well-off, business-influenced family and being an athlete throughout his youth.

“I have to admit, the money is good.  If you are starting off and building something for yourself, you should be thankful if were given the prospect of showbizness because it is the best place to be in.  More than the reward, the fun that it promises when working.  It is so rousing and it makes me want to do more.” Mikael smiled saying that.

He went on, “I guess, I can very well be in any field that I want to.  I have never really thought about being where I am at this point.  I grew up in a big family and had been used to mingling with different people, so I think everything channelled swiftly towards my passion for the arts and people per se.  I am overwhelmed but at the same time, I am happy because I am learning everyday and having a blast at the same time.  After modelling, TV commercials, a movie and then Amaya, now I am even writing . . .”

MIKAEL ON WRITING

I was almost kicked in the teeth, “Really? Writing?”

He laughed, “Yes, actually.  I have been writing blogs for a time now and when I was offered to write, I just had to leap towards it.  I like it very much.  Writing bends towards the undefined artistry of anyone who has something to say.  There are expressions that imply character, which I did recently for television and film, but my writing connoted my very own view on things.  I’m sure you can also relate when I say that it is somewhat a vocation that is not only stimulating but also freeing! And there’s just so much to write!” he gushed with excitement.

I couldn’t agree more.

YOUNG MAN IN THE MIRROR

“So, would you tap into the behind-the-scenes of filmmaking one day?” I had to ask the question because as our conversation becomes multi-layered by the minute, I was beginning to paint structures of this young talented man in front of me.  I thought then that yes, he can very well be someone who will not stop in acting alone.

“Let us cross the bridge when we get there.  In my own way, I am doing what I can, doing my best and very grateful for all the blessings.  Everything happened in one full year and the coming year is looking so good as well.  I am here to learn some more and to do the best that I can. I’m a bona fide optimist. I once said that life is good and I look at things from a bright side. Life isn’t measured by the number of breaths you take but by the number of moments that take your breath away.” Mikael linked with sincerity.

“How would you want to be remembered?”

He smiled, “As Mikael Daez.”

The Writer with Mikael Daez
About this entry